top of page
  • Writer's pictureRanim Munshi

The Productivity Prison!

Updated: Sep 11, 2020


The Oxford Dictionary defines Productivity as “the rate at which a worker, a company, or a country produces goods, and the amount produced, compared with how much time, work, and money is needed to produce them high/improved/increased productivity Pay rates depend on levels of productivity”. Producing goods for money has become intertwined with our understanding of how much work we do, and hence ties our self-worth to our work. Is that a fair comparison to draw? The more work you do, the more worthy you are as a person. Seems a tad bit judgemental to tie someone’s being to output. Hence, we take a deep dive into the world of productivity, toxic positivity and what it means to be productive during a global pandemic.

The American Dream states “Work hard, and you shall find success”. This is a phrase that can often be heard ringing through Network Broadcast stations as people argue over the fact if your work and output amounts to your wealth. The truth of the matter is that those who often work the hardest, get paid the least. We see this amongst our labourers and those who work 3 jobs to make ends meet. This settles it then, your work doesn’t signify your worth, right? Well, the answer is more complex than a simple yes or no. When the pandemic began and the stay at home order was issued; I was on cloud 9. A dream come true for an introvert like me, where I could snuggle into my comfiest blanket with a hot drink and binge watch Netflix on a regular basis. It was exciting- no more work, I could do whatever I please from the comfort of my home- there’s nothing better than that. That was until the “Lockdown Monotony” hit me.

Each day began bleeding into one another. I lost track of time; I lost track of self. I didn’t know who I was- was I just the girl who could sit in one place all day and consume content? Is there nothing I can give back to others; even when confined at home? What was I even doing? Isn’t binge-watching Netflix for a month straight not healthy? I felt worthless by the end of May. The dreaded word, the word that ties your output with your self esteem- I truly did feel low.

Here’s the thing, you do need to be finding some way to keep yourself busy. Be it college work, internships, partaking in committee events or starting up your own venture. A key part of building a sense of self and a personality is by putting yourself through certain situations where you learn about yourself and others around you. If this pandemic has taught me anything, it’s that people can find bliss by doing the simplest of things. Productivity is more than just sitting in front of a screen and getting work done; you could partake in cooking, cleaning, exercising, meditation- things that help you find peace. Striking a healthy balance between the two is key to “happy productivity”.

I do suggest staying away from quotes that say “stay on your grind, work on your hustle”. You know, the ones that cover your Pinterest board. Your productivity and sense of self is in your own hands, you choose to allocate how much time you want to work on yourself, while being an active part of your community. Don’t overburden and pressure yourself to be productive- after all what we are going through is not normal and we should figure out how we wish to adjust in these trying times. Take your time and find out what truly makes you happy. In these unprecedented times there is one lesson you can take forward; your self worth is only decided by one person- yourself.

148 views1 comment

1 comentário


kevalisboring
11 de set. de 2020

nice pick

Curtir
bottom of page