top of page
  • Writer's pictureNishi Yajnik

Humans of UPG: Vanshika Bansal

It had always been my dream to pursue my studies out of a city that I live in, i.e Surat. However, my parents made it very clear that they are not going to let me leave the city. They even made me transfer from CBSE to state board (GSEB) as it would be relatively easier to get admission where I live. It was very hard for me to cope up with the new curriculum as the change was against my will. Despite that, I tried to manage it.


In the back of my mind, I would always think of new ways to convince my parents but they were always stern in their belief of not letting me leave. The course that I desperately wanted to take, BAMMC, isn’t even offered in Surat! I was very frustrated since they didn't let me opt for humanities in 11th grade and now again I wouldn’t have been able to pursue my passion. The Covid-19 pandemic made it even more difficult.


I realised that the only way to pursue my studies out of Surat was to achieve a good score in my 12th finals. I started studying religiously. Despite the exams being cancelled, marks were given on the basis of pre-boards and 10th. I earned the 1st rank in my entire school! It was an overwhelming and amazing moment for me. On the very same night, I tried to convince my parents to let me leave the city yet again, and yet again, their answer was a clear no.


I believed in my dream and started filling out forms for almost every college in Mumbai and luckily I got in a few of them. I fought with my parents and did everything I could to convince them. I guess the universe was with me and they got convinced!


I'm really scared and nervous about starting my new life in a new city. Many people at UPG are from different parts of India. I know for a fact that it's going to be a difficult but a very exciting journey for us! I'm keenly looking forward to offline lectures as living on my own is going to give me the freedom that I always desired. I've always manifested myself as a strong independent woman and living on my own will give me a chance to become one. I'm really thankful for whatever life has for me and all I'm hoping is to be strong and happy in all

situations.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page