top of page
  • Writer's picture Jinali Mehta

Humans of UPG: Sana Bhandari

Updated: Jun 23, 2022

It all began in 4th grade when the patches appeared. Numerous doctors had suggested a deficiency of calcium, but in fact, the problem was vitiligo. The treatment went on for a longer period than expected. In the process of my treatment, I was asked to take a steroid that greatly affected my health. Originally, I was underweight, but side effects from my medicine and treatment caused me to gain lots of weight. The treatment lasted longer than expected,

but after four years of it, I finally had a cure for all but one of my patches. It felt so liberating not to visit a doctor.


However, my good days came to an end when I noticed two bald patches on my head. The treatment resumed again, although with a stricter approach. Steroids and medicine made my life harder and society didn't make it easier for me either. A lot of comments were made about how I looked and my body.


In the year 2020, I experienced severe acne problems, PCOD, and alopecia. These ailments appeared mostly as a collateral of my previous treatments. With each passing day, my confidence was decreasing. I found my silver lining in the lockdown in which I pushed myself to do better. As I began working out, learning new things, and, most importantly, learning how to care for myself, all the positive changes occurred. While I have recovered from acne, I am still undergoing treatment for alopecia. The movie Gone Kesh has a profound influence on me as it shows the most meaningful experiences. I will always be grateful to my family and a few friends who never made me feel different and stood by me at every turn. Throughout my journey, I've learned that problems will try to impede your progress, but you need to stay strong and confident. I am grateful for the life I live, and that is what keeps me going.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page