top of page
  • Writer's pictureKeval Vora

Gender Equity in Times of Crises - a WDC Event

Judging someone by the look of them is just something we all do even though

we know it’s incorrect, it’s a popular saying too, ‘Never judge a book by its

cover’.

You judge someone and just have a predefined image of them in your mind,

we do not know the entire story behind that person and judging them by the

first glance is outright incorrect.

In this session by the Usha Pravin Gandhi’s Women Development Cell, we here

the story and struggles of the Performing Artist and Story Teller: Swapnil

Sabban’s story.

The speaker was very open to every query the students had and also had a real

way of looking at it.

Swapnil did not just want to share his story, he wanted to clear the doubts

everyone had about the community. He explained and answered every

question peacefully and cheerfully while educating us on the subject and the

community.

He spoke about everything, how his dance came into place, when did he

realize, rejection from toxic people in lives, laws, showing of the community in

the entertainment zone and so much more. While sharing his experiences. He

said, finding comfort was only the time when he slept. He couldn't trust his

friends because they then turned to be competitors, the bond was a bit left.

Also saying “I used to put on my saree with my beard on, very few people did

that and people looked down on me for it. I was asked for a fashion show, I was

asked to choose to do it as a man or a woman, which I didn't like. I did it with a

beard and I won the pageant. It changed; people who were teasing me started

doing the same.”

He also stated, “People bring you down and try to make you feel bad. I was

once asked by Times of India for an interview and they put up a hoarding of

me, that was a time I felt truly happy. It felt good.” His story was touching.

He ended the session by making us learn that we shall always empathize.

When he was in the hijra community, he learnt life there.

This session taught us about the people who we encounter on a daily basis but

we know so little about. Society has taught us to look a certain way, but the

greatest takeaway from this event was “treat everyone how you would like to

be treated.”


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cultural Carnival

“Mediocrity knows nothing higher than itself, but talent instantly recognizes genius.” ― Arthur Conan Doyle, The Valley of Fear To...

Comentários


bottom of page