top of page
  • Writer's pictureKomal Shetty

Each thread; Your Identity.

Updated: Sep 11, 2020

Each of you comes today hopeful, wanting in on the game. A month ago you

were in medical school being taught by doctors.... Aaaah wait, we’re not in med

school, we’re not being taught by doctors, I’m not Richard Webber and this

isn’t Grey’s Anatomy. Nevermind, I’ll save that speech for another time. ​I

remember my first day of FY, which by the way, feels like it was just yesterday.

I remember being really excited- a tad bit nervous but super excited! So, as a

nostalgia struck TY, my advice to you would be that it’s okay to be nervous, it’s

okay to be excited and it’s okay to be a little anxious. Just remember that

whatever you’re feeling, all your classmates are experiencing the same

emotions; you’re not alone. So, acknowledge your feelings, take a deep breath

and brace yourself for this crazy journey that’s going to unfold before you.

​Trust me, you’re going to make some of your best memories at this place!

Before you know it you’re going to be in your TY giving a welcome speech to

the new batch of FY’s.


Fashion is something that’s very fluid. What’s trending today will be passé

tomorrow. What are trends really? Personally, I feel like you should be open to

trying new things and exploring different styles because that’s when you’ll

really know what suits you best. I’ve curated a list of different styles for you to

take inspiration from and dig into your closet.

1. Street Suave

If I had to describe this style of dressing in one line, I’d say it’s where comfort

meets style. It has a very casual vibe to it. In the look below, I’ve paired these

oversized baggy joggers with a bright crop top. The element that makes the look

stand out is the pink and yellow checkered scarf that I’ve wrapped around my

head. The silver chain and the septum ring complements the look.






2. Quirky prints

A fashion myth that I believed in for the longest time was that print on print is a

major faux pas. However, this changed for me when I decided to bust this myth

for myself. So. I went all out with my print on print experiment. I dug through

my wardrobe and pulled out a bunch of contrasting prints. I was quite surprised

with the way the look turned out, it was experimental and fun while also having

an edgy touch to it.







3. Bohemian Beauty

The bohemian style is all about being free spirited and living in the moment..

​The reason I love it so much is because it's so comfortable, easy going and

stylish all at the same time. For this look I’ve used a quirky multi coloured scarf

on the head with matching palazzos that adds the required playful element to the

look. The rusty gold jewellery compliments the look perfectly. I’ve also added a

yellow fanny pack to go with it.



4. Casual chic

This is where comfort meets style. I call this look casual chic because it’s effortlessly stylish and super comfortable at the same time. I’ve paired a cosy purple turtle neck top with mom jeans. I’ve kept the accessories very minimal.









5. Stripes and Solids

This one is basic yet it gives you so much scope to play around and experiment

with the simplest clothes you may own. Stripes and solid are a great

combination, one compliments the other without overshadowing it. I’ve paired a

basic white T with green pants that stand out because of its yellow stripes. It

would also work well the other way around, paring a striped top with solid

coloured pants. I’ve also chosen shoes that match the T-shirt to take the style

game a notch higher.


At the end of the day, fashion is what you make of it. It’s never about wearing

big names on yourself. It’s more about being creative and making the best out

of what you have. It’s a way of expressing yourself through the way you dress

and what better time than now to do so. So, dig into your wardrobe and you do

you!

26 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cultural Carnival

“Mediocrity knows nothing higher than itself, but talent instantly recognizes genius.” ― Arthur Conan Doyle, The Valley of Fear To...

2 Comments


Shubha Shetty
Shubha Shetty
Sep 13, 2020

Beautifully experiment with style n colours, mix n match concept explained very well 👏👏

Like

Shubha Shetty
Shubha Shetty
Sep 13, 2020

Beautifully experiment with style n colours, mix n match concept explained very well 👏👏

Like
bottom of page