top of page
  • Vidar Joshi

The Journey Behind the Lens!

I was staring at my engineering college leaving certificate, as it glared right

back at me with contempt. “So, that’s it then. Now you are on your own”, The

certificate said. “Yes, I suppose I wanted this freedom. I want to make films and

I want to tell stories and this is the first step”, I replied. The certificate smirked.

In an almost mocking tone, he scornfully said, “And how are you going to do

that?” Well, at that point in time I didn’t know what I was going to do. I didn’t

know if dropping out was a good decision or not. As a ray of hope, just like in

every underdog story, or in every hero’s journey there is a moment where the

protagonist meets his mentor. In this story UPG has been the biggest mentor

for me.

Now, some of my friends reading this might feel like I am making things up. To

them I say- there’s an external journey and there’s an internal journey of a

character. I’ll try to articulate the internal journey here. Meeting your mentor

so easily in your story might not create the drama it needs to create for the

audience. So, the writer of my life decided to add a few dramatic blocks in

order to keep the audiences hooked. At this point the audience is my

engineering friends who envied me, my relatives who needed the gossip and

the rest of society who had no faith in me. Hence, the struggle began and I

started going from college to college with my documents looking for a course

which would help me achieve my dreams of becoming a filmmaker.

After foraging multiple colleges, I finally found UPG. On the first day of classes,

Ashish sir welcomed me with the warmest smile as a buzz of excitement rang

through the air. He gave us a sheet of paper and asked us to create something

out of the paper which describes you the best. This is the point where the title

track of “Taare Zameen Par” begins playing in the background. I felt a sense of


belonging- my journey of becoming a filmmaker has finally begun. The best

part about the college is that it taught me way more than just filmmaking. I

grew as a person and I started exploring myself as a human being. Major key

players in helping me become the person I am today are the B.A. Faculty and

everyone who came into our class and taught me something I didn’t know.

The faculty have immense amounts of knowledge and it was my responsibility

to inherit that. To be honest, being a part of the education system in India, you

don’t usually fall in love with the institute you’re studying in. I am lucky to say

that I fell deeply in love with my college. From the cheerful chatter in the

foyers, to the engrossing lectures and high-spirited college committees, UPG

has provided me with so much more than an education. The life lessons are

irreplaceable, the friendships are lifelong and the memories are forever

pleasant. You’ll always find your crowd and your platform to shine through;

UPG does that for you.

At this point I feel like I’ve rambled on for a while; I want you guys to

experience it yourself. Let’s approach the climax. The same guy outside his

engineering college staring at his leaving certificate was staring at the script of

his first feature film which he was about to shoot. This journey was not

possible if it wasn’t for UPG.

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cultural Carnival

“Mediocrity knows nothing higher than itself, but talent instantly recognizes genius.” ― Arthur Conan Doyle, The Valley of Fear To...

Comments


bottom of page