top of page
  • Alok Parekh

“I’ve seen time! Have you ever?”

Updated: Jun 23, 2022

"I don’t have time!" and "What is the hurry, I have a lot of time."

These two sentences have a lot between them. Time itself speaks a lot about people and the situation that they are in. Maybe, our lives revolve a lot around these two phrases. We have been believing that there is no way we can see time, but isn’t that just a myth? I’ve seen time passing. I have realized it is very important to spend each and every bit of my time productively...


To board the next train, I had to go to the other platform via a flyover. I was exhausted and started questioning myself about what I was actually doing in life! With every step of the flyover that I climbed; my thoughts got even more intense. I can no way forget that day.


It was one of those cold winter mornings when my uproarious alarm clock woke me up at 6:30. I badly wanted to switch it off and go back to sleep again, but I simply couldn’t with all my daily responsibilities hovering over my head. I had to go to work. So, unwillingly though, I had gotten up. I was still sitting on the bed with my cozy blanket spread all over my folded legs amid the daily struggle

of trying to keep my eyes wide open. All I could imagine was just the bed and I wanted to sleep again, already. However, with no option left, I came out of the bed and got freshened up. Gathering all my motivation, I then went out for my daily morning walk for the next one hour. The Sun, appearing like a ring of fire, had started to come up and the stars had just started getting dimmer. I met the same faces, spoke to them, we laughed. It was after that, that my day started to get better slowly. It felt like one of the most perfect mornings that I’ve ever had. Soon, it was time to return home. It was almost 8:15 when I got back. As soon as I reached home, I rushed back to the bedroom for my daily workout. It was already 9 o’clock when I went for a shower. As that first drop of hot water dropped off the shower directly on my face, the little sleep left in me was gone too. I was then completely fresh and went to dress up for going to my office. After about 15 minutes, I headed towards the kitchen to prepare my breakfast. While the eggs were getting fried and the tomatoes were getting grilled, I was hastily applying butter on a hot bread toast. I took out my can of orange juice from the fridge and went towards the dining table with a newspaper in my hand. I had a train to board at 10:15.


I suppose the odds were not in my favor that day. I got stuck in traffic and couldn’t reach the station on time. I missed the train and while I was waiting for another train, an announcement was made. To board the next train, I had to go to the other platform via a flyover. I was exhausted and started questioning myself about what I was actually doing in life! With every step of the flyover that I climbed; my thoughts got even more intense. I stopped on the flyover for a minute. All I could see was the chaos and hustle- bustle of people running. I could hear the people screaming from behind while the children frantically tried to run at the same speed as that of their parents. A large chunk of people were moving up and down the stairs to reach their platforms to board their trains.


I thought about how out of all the people boarding the train of their lives, how many would actually be reaching their actual destination in life? That was the day when I actually ‘saw’ time. My head got flooded with innumerous thoughts in that one minute. That busy movement of people made me realize that time never waits for anybody. It is just that time passes, and we are spent. That day I fixed one thing in my head; if I don’t spend my time working towards my commitments, I’ll slowly start to lose them.


I broke the myth that I believed in the most before I could experience that one precious minute of my life.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page